Media Outrage

Media Outrage Celebrity Gossip, and everything that is going on in the Media!

America’s Most Dangerous Cities

Posted by Media Outrage on April 25, 2009

guns

We all know it goes down every day.  Somebody, somewhere, is getting their cap peeled backwards, with nothing but hot lead.  Well, a list has been released, of America’s most dangerous cities.  In some of these cities, your odds of catching a cap, are stronger than catching a simple “hello.”  Peep game to see if your city is on that list

 

Via Yahoo:

In March 2008, Kwame Kilpatrick was charged with eight felonies, including perjury and obstruction of justice. In August, he violated his bail agreement and was thrown in jail. His actions were deplorable for anybody, but Kilpatrick was no Average Joe–he was the mayor of Detroit.

Unfortunately for the Motor City, Kilpatrick, 38, is just one ripple in the area’s sea of crime.  Detroit is the worst offender on our list of America’s most dangerous cities, thanks to a staggering rate of 1,220 violent crimes committed per 100,000 people.

“Detroit has, historically, been one of the more violent cities in the U.S.,” says Megan Wolfram, an analyst at iJet Intelligent Risk Systems, a Maryland-based risk-assessment firm. “They have a number of local crime syndicates there–a number of small gangs who tend to compete over territory.”

Detroit was followed closely on the list by the greater Memphis, Tenn., and Miami, Fla., metropolitan areas. Those three were the only large cities in America with more than 950 violent crimes committed per 100,000 people.

Behind the Numbers

To determine our list, we used violent crime statistics from the FBI’s latest uniform crime report, issued in 2008. The violent crime category is composed of four offenses: murder and non-negligent manslaughter, forcible rape, robbery and aggravated assault. We evaluated U.S. metropolitan statistical areas–geographic entities defined by the U.S. Office of Management and Budget for use by federal agencies in collecting, tabulating and publishing federal statistics–with more than 500,000 residents.

Though nationwide crime was down 3.5% year over year in the first six months of 2008, the cities atop our list illustrate a disturbing trend: All 10 of the most dangerous cities were among those identified by the Department of Justice as transit points for Mexican drug cartels.

Run by crime lords like Joaquin Guzman Lorea, these gangs–and their violent turf wars–are spreading into the American Southwest and beyond. Places like Stockton, Calif., nearly 500 miles from Tijuana, have seen an uptick in related violent crime.

“Stocton is a major transit point along the I-5 corridor on the way to Seattle and Vancouver,” says Wolfram. “A lot of it is similar to crime happening in the Southwest. For the most part, it’s drug gang on drug gang.”

Motown Blues

The situation in Mexico has escalated in recent years, but Detroit has been dealing with the same problems for decades. An industrial boomtown during the first half of the 20th century, the population of Detroit proper swelled from 285,000 in 1900 to 990,000 in 1920, reaching a peak of 1.8 million in 1950.

Only half that number still lives within city limits. Starting in the 1960s, Detroit began a precipitous decline. Most scholars blame rapid suburbanization, outsourcing of manufacturing jobs, and federal programs they say exacerbated the situation by creating a culture of joblessness and dependency. Residents fled to the suburbs and to other regions of the country entirely, leaving behind a landscape littered with abandoned buildings.

“Factories that once provided tens of thousands of jobs now stand as hollow shells, windows broken, mute testimony to a lost industrial past,” wrote Thomas J. Sugrue in his book The Origins of the Urban Crisis. “Whole sections of the city are eerily apocalyptic.”

Detroit isn’t the only city on the list that’s suffering from abandonment issues.

In Las Vegas, Nev., for example, the housing boom created loads of excess inventory. When the market tanked, homeowners suddenly found themselves with properties worth far less than the mortgages they’d taken out. In the worst cases, banks foreclosed, leaving people without homes–and with more debt than they’d had to begin with. As a result, Sin City is even emptier than Detroit.

“Detroit has trouble showing improvement in its crime rate because dedicated, desperately needed and appropriate resources are not invested in public safety. Painfully, it is not a priority,” says Wayne County Prosecuting Attorney Kym L. Worthy. “I wish that those with the resources would view domestic terrorism like they do terrorism across the water. It used to be that we were keeping our head above water and treading quickly. Now we are drowning, and no one seems to really care. All they tell me to do is cut some more.”

Few Signs of Improvement

Making matters more difficult, as municipal budgets shrink during this recession, crime-fighting funds are often among the first casualties.

“There’s less public spending during downturns,” says Wolfram. “Police departments and incarcerations systems are tough to fund.”

The news has been bad for decades, but there may yet be hope for Detroit. The city’s new mayor, Kenneth V. Cockrel Jr., assumed office on Sept. 19, 2009–and hasn’t committed a single felony.

Top 5 Most Dangerous Cities:

No. 1 Detroit, Mich.

(Detroit-Livonia-Dearborn, Mich., metropolitan statistical area)

Population: 1,951,186

Violent Crimes per 100,000: 1,220

No. 2 Memphis, Tenn.

(Memphis, Tenn.-Miss.-Ark. metropolitan statistical area)

Population: 1,295,670

Violent Crimes per 100,000: 1,218

No. 3. Miami, Fla.

(Miami-Miami Beach-Kendall, Fla. metropolitan statistical area)

Population: 2,401,971

Violent Crimes per 100,000: 988

No. 4. Las Vegas, Nev.

(Las Vegas-Paradise, Nev., metropolitan statistical area)

Population: 1,834,533

Violent Crimes per 100,000: 887

No. 5 Stockton, Calif.

(Stockton, Calif., metropolitan statistical area)

Population: 684,406

Violent Crimes per 100,000: 885

Mediaoutrage–  We’re surprised, because, we thought that a few other cities would have been on that list for sho.

41 Responses to “America’s Most Dangerous Cities”

  1. ucanb2 said

    I am surprised, but glad to not see Houston listed in the top 5

  2. What? No B-more? interesting…..

  3. Yeah I Said It said

    Chicago is the safest city in the U.S. Illinois the best state of all states. Chicago the city that’s up all night. Chicago the most beautiful city in the U.S. Yep Chicago the place where you can leave your doors open,go to work and school and come back with everything in tact. Chicago where good morning,good evening and good night are spoken to everyday strangers…. Chicago the city with the finest people in the world residing.hahahahaha

    Don’t everybody run to this state to live we are already full.

  4. Smurfette said

    This list is why I live in small-ass-town, CT!! Lol I think the worst we had happen was a fire a couple streets over last yr!! (Which was accidental) lmao!!!

    • Krystal said

      Hi miss tgrcat, I have never really known anyone to specifically love tigers but that’s an interesting juipotasxtion to your down to earth personality. Great introduction and welcome to the team! It’s been a pleasure. Can’t wait to read more in time to come. Purr,Lav. :p

    • man kan inte ta nÃ¥gra ord pÃ¥ internet helt super seriöst, hundpäls skulle säkert bli en fin jacka.Men hon säger ju inte kom vi dödar alla hundar och gör jackor av dem till mig.hon bara uttryckte sig sÃ¥ man skulle förstÃ¥ att hon verkligen inte gillar hundar….

  5. Yeah I Said It:

    I hope you are joking right?…because the Southside and Westside of Chicago have the highest murder rate in 2008. It’s like almost up there with Philadelphia and Detroit.

    This stat is strictly about it being crime infested…not the body rate. I seen this stat but the body count..the Wild 100’s and the southside is still representin to the fullest!

  6. Lacy said

    So glad Philly is not on the list …

  7. 2020VIZN said

    Every time I go to another city/state/country, people always want to know about life in Miami. mothefuckers swear its all sun tans, bikinis, neon lights at night, stars with a lil yayo sprinkled in. Miami has been fucked up for a long time, you cant get away from the criminal element anymore. Anytime Im coming back into Miami by car after a trip or going back home to visit family, as soon as I get into Ft. Lauderdale, my whole demeanor and attitude changes, the pistol goes from the glove box to the lap with the safety off. Dont get to that bish and get all happy walking around like a dumb ass tourist, we can spot new people a 100 miles away, they are too happy. After a year in that hell hole, running that rat race, you are no longer happy. To make matters even worse, the women are the pitts, In all my life I still have not met a female in Dade county that was trustworthy. I would never put a ring on the finger of a chick from the MI YAY YO. Dont Trust a motherfucking thing you see or hear in Babylon……protect ya neck.

    Chuuch……..Tabernacle

  8. MissTX85 said

    Glad to see the Dirty D ain’t on that joint.

  9. Media Outrage said

    Lol @ 2020. Sounds like that song Ice Cube made “How to survive in South Central.” LOL

  10. fra said

    New Orleans crime filled not on there, I’m to surprised.

  11. 2020VIZN said

    Damn MO, I read my comment and that shit did sound like that. Shit we can do a remix of that DJ Quick song talking about every city was just like compton. Miami…is just like compton, Dade county..is just like compton, South Florida…Is just like compton. Lol

  12. MoneAlicia said

    Daaang! Philly ain’t on there??? Wow…

  13. Yeah I Said It said

    @ DT, Yes sir I am joking. Just so you know crime or no crime I love the hell out of Chicago and would’nt want to live anywhere else ever. As long as we are not the AIDS and STD capital of the world, I can deal with the rest…

  14. Lio said

    Not surprise to see Detroit in the number 1 spot..that city is the devil’s asshole.

    @2020..you’re right, I went to Miami (south beach) for the first time 4 years ago and loved. But like you mentioned, I was a tourist hanging in tourist spots. A few year back my cousin moved to Coral Gable, in Broward, I think. I was surprised to see him live in a gated community, pretty fucking nice inside…but we don’t have that shit in Canada..Gated community ? WTF for ? well we went for a drive and now I get why the nigga spent 600k to live in a gated community. The real Miami is a rough time.

    What amazed me the most about the town, and it’s so fucking weird, is that one minute you driving in a nice fucking neighborhood with villas and shit. you cross the light and you in a bad ass neighborhood , like LITERALLY….Who the hell is the city planner ? correct me if i’m wrong 2020

    BUT , despite all this I love Miami, Coconut Grove is the shit….

  15. Lio said

    oops..I meant “rough Town” sorry…

  16. Yvoone said

    I see Cali is on the list but at least the city is nowhere near the city I live in.

  17. 2020VIZN said

    @ Lio: Dont get me wrong, I love my city. I feel that being born an raised in Miami was one of the greatest experiences that I could have had. Its a great city, very diverse but it is as dangerous as it is diverse.

    But as far as the layout of the city in miami goes, blacks started out in the middle of the city with whites all around, as blacks started to move out in all directions, whites started being pushed further and further towards the outskirts until whites stopped moving, then shit got intergrated. Then the Mariel Boat Lift took place and Cubans pretty much got in where they fit in but the biggest concentration was in the Hialeah Area and a small area between Downtown and south Miami known as Little Havana. But the population of Cubans spreaded like fire at a gas station. Then came the Hatians, they will live anywhere there is air, they are everywhere. So around 1990, no matter what area you lived in, every ethnic and class of people were there. You might have a house in a upscale part of town and live between some hatians and cubans with blacks across the street. That neighborhood might have $700,000 homes but the atmosphere will be ghetto as hell because the hatians that are there are living 6 families deep in a house, the cubans are drug dealers, the black family has a father that is a nuclear pharmacist, and the white people are credit card scammers that have rave parties. Its crazy but I guess the reason that miami is all one big ghetto is because of the money. Thugs and low lifes get a few bucks move into a neighborhood and fuck it up. One Example of this is the area that you were talking about, Coral Gables was one of the nicest parts of town, they still try to do their best to keep that area nice because it is where the University Of Miami is and that school brings money to the city, lots of it. But you also talked about Coconut Grove, with all of the money in that area them projects down the street from CoCo walk are some of the worst ones you can find, then there is the foodstamp office up the street from there, its crazy…one big ass ghetto

    But Coral Gables is Dade County, Broward County meets Dade county on the North side of Dade, Broward is the county of Ft Lauderdale. Coral Gables is considered South Miami.

  18. uluvhershey said

    I live in the D, Detroit, murder capital huh? It can happen anywhere, I love Detroit, 313 baby.

  19. Marathon_Man said

    Even though I live in South Jersey, I’m in Philly all the time. That’s where we party at. Yea, this list can’t be talking about BODY COUNT, because it seems like every 5 seconds another n*gga’s getting SMOKED. Shoot, in the last year Philly has lost like 5 or maybe 6 police officers to gunfire. These n*ggas aint playing. Shit, I need the damn mercedes Bullet Proofed lol. When I’m at the light late at night coming from the club, I don’t even look in n*ggas cars if they’re staring in mine, cause don’t have time for the Menace II Society style jacking.

  20. Lio said

    @2020 you’re absolutely right..thanks for the details.

  21. Lisa said

    In response to Miami and the comments made by 2020VIZN that sounds like a movie you once watched. Miami is like any other city. Every city in the US has crimes. I was born and raised in Miami and I love it been here over 30 years! And my father was never a “pharmacist” nor my friend’s father and I grow up in an all black neighborhood. I also married a Haitian decent who didn’t have 6 families deep in a house. All the immigrants that came to Miami came to live the American Dream and they are doing better than ever. And in reference to women in Miami. A woman is a woman no matter where you go. Miami is beautiful. I thought about leaving Miami but I can never leave I love the culture, the people and the city. Crime is everywhere. Never talk about negative about “The Bottom” if you represent you from there.

    • Adelaide said

      Now we know who the senbisle one is here. Great post!

    • OK, I guess I find things more entertaining as they feel more real (in light of which, Rome is not in the least entertaining for me), and you, Sar, find things less entertaining as they veer from what you already are familiar with. Fair enough.I’m not asking for a documentary, and as I’m sure you will recall I haven’t complained about fabricating scenes or making characters take actions they didn’t take. I complain about making characters take actions that no one in their circumstances would have taken. I consider those two very different types of complaints. YMMV, and clearly does.

  22. Smurfette said

    @ Lisa, I can see you are one of the people who rose above the bullshit of Miami. But as you stated, there is crime anywhere and I think this poster was just tellin his experience wit crime there. I know there are good and bad sides to every story. Me myself, I feel I can survive in Surburbia or the Slums, as I have lived in many places from HP in San Francisco to Albany, GA. But since havin my daughter I felt I needed to move somewhere really slow wit low crime. I know its crime everywhere, but since movin to CT 3 yrs ago, my daughter and I have not had one gun pulled on us while walkin down the street like San Fran. I think its pretty boring here and would rather be in Cali or Miami, but for my daughter sake, I am here. I have a better chance of makin it to age 35 wit out a bullet hole in me here, than Cali. Just my thoughts on all this.

  23. 2020VIZN said

    @ Lisa: Why are you taking what I say personal. First of all, I was not talking about you father unless his name is George. When I spoke of the Nuclear Pharmacist, I was talking about a fellow by the name of George who I used to shoot ball with when I lived in the Moors, You do know the Moors right?. By the way Nuclear Pharmacists are real doctors, they mix chemicals for heart paients that are going into surgery and other things. Your quotation marks make me think that you thought I was talking about drugs or something. Look up Nuclear Pharmacist, they make a lot of money. And I am so very happy that you have a husband of Hatian decent. I myself have dated Hatians, I even had one that was Hatian and Cuban…..damn Esther was fine!!! I met met them While I was attending High school at Miami Edison. I wont put the Nicknane of the school on here because you might get mad at that. But If you would have read the first part of my post you would have seen that I said, better yet here it is again. “Dont get me wrong, I love my city. I feel that being born an raised in Miami was one of the greatest experiences that I could have had. Its a great city, very diverse but it is as dangerous as it is diverse”
    just like you I was born and raised in Miami I have lived in just about every neighborhood from Kendall to the Bahas, Yes every city has crimes but Miami Is whole different animal, people usually find that out when they leave and experience life in other places. I have lived in other cities that have high crime rates like Oakland, Chicago, DC and Baltimore, and they are all rough but I am always on a much higher alert when I go home, my instincts kick back in from experience. Now I was just like you before I went abroad, I didnt know anything else, it was the only life I knew so it was all normal to me, then I left and saw something different and Im here to tell you Miami aint no joke and to be perfectly honest with you, it is not just like any other city. Now I expect you to take offense to the female comment because you are a female from Miami, but I stand firm by what I said, I dont trust females to this day because I grew up in Miami, and I have seen it all and dont trust one as far as I can throw em. Know I take some of the blame for that because I choose the females that I deal with, Im sure there are a few good ones sprinkled here and there but I just didnt run into them. But you say that you have been there 30 years and that is great because for the longest I myself didnt see myself living anywhere else. Now I dont see myself settling in Miami, who knows. But I rep my city because I tell the truth about it. I guess our views vary sort of like parents. You have the parent that will defend a child that murders someone, but I just happen to be the one who will tell you if my child is some sort of criminal, crazy ass or a crook. But with all due respect Lisa, if you have not lived anywhere else in your life, you can’t tell me a motherfucking thing. Oh yeah I will be home for Goombay…….with a pistol, they wont cat me slippin.

    Good Evening!!!

  24. Yea I Said It said

    @ 2020.I started out growing up in the north burbs of Chicago, where there it was predominatly white,and little crime. We also lived briefly on the westside, where every gunshot was like drinking water, (common) We moved to the southside around 103rd and Jeffery area. It was rough and we had fun, crime or no crime. My parents settled in Homewood/Flossmoore,a far south burb where it’s quiet and a little upscale. I enjoyed every area of living and yes some spots were worst than others. I understand your history of Miami and your insite of what you know. I did visit Miami and we stayed in South Beach and hung around the art deco district. I imagine Miami is like all cities good places and bad, and then there is really bad……. Like you I tell people when they ask, Hell yea Chicago is crime ridden but I would’nt live any where else….

    Love me some windy city.

  25. 2020VIZN said

    YISI, I know that crime exist in all cities. All this came about because me and Lio was discussing the fact that its hard to tell where the line of the ghetto and the burbs exist. I was simply saying that in Miami criminals live amongst the affluent and most times the criminals in those neighborhoods end up fucking it up. I refrenced some actual situations and peoples occupation that I knew and people thought is was talking shit. I lived in Miami Lakes in the Mid 90’s, some of the Dolphins and a few heat players lived in the same sub division, oh and so did a Nuclear Pharmacist named George Lol. Well, Louis Oliver and a few other football players houses got broken into, come to find out it was the brother of a doctor that lived there, that was breaking into the houses, a few weeks later a dude that lived in the neighborhood was riding around on a fuckin bicycle snatching purses and two weeks after that the Jamaicans that owned a couple of Reggae record shops that lived there, get a home Invasion pulled on them because 3 dudes found out that they was selling weed and thought that they had it in the crib. Now when I rented an apartment in that division, I payed $950 a month. They had apartments, town houses and houses there. I went back there about 11 months ago and the sign said Luxury Homes starting in the $800,000’s. in Miami that means that $890,000. if you pay that type of money for a house you dont expect that type of bullshit to be going on. But its the norm in Miami. There are only a few places where you are fairly safe in Miami. Miami has a side that most peopel dont see, but its real in that bitch, if it wasnt, it wouldnt be on this list, nor would it be on the First 48, everytime you turn the t.v. on. But I love my city, I realy do, it just so happens that we are talking about “America’s Most Dangerous Cities” and it falls on the #3 spot, now no matter what my opinion is or anyone elses is the fact remains that Miami is America’s #3 most Dangerous city. I can tell good things about the place, but the topic tody is “Americas Most dangerous cities”, but I grew in the heat and grew tired of all the hot weather. I kind of like cold weather, I like being able to put on some bad ass rags in the winter time, I like My fireplace to be something more than a decoration. I think Im gonna settle in Waukeegan, I will roll up to Racine when I want to fish, I will go out on Lake Michigan, I Like that.

  26. Yea I Said It said

    @2020.. If you fish on the Chicago end of Lake Michigan all you will catch are smelts.

  27. 2020VIZN said

    Damn gurl, what you know bout fishing? if you fish you my type of chick!! But I know there are a lot of those there, I will use them lil gold hooks and catch them lil bastards and use them for bait. Then I will hop in the boat and go get some of them brown trout and salmon. But you can catch salmon from the bank, I have caught a few of them there.

  28. Yeah I Said It said

    2020 I have a lot of things you need to find out about me….. My uncles go down south for crappie fishing, I can say I do know how to clean and cook fish. I myself prefer a fish I don’t catch or clean. I love orange roughy,happy to know it’s a fish primarily caught in New Zealand. Don’t get me started I go all day on seafood

  29. 2020VIZN said

    Shit, I do ned to find out more about, and vice versa. But i wont get you started abou seafood bcause I will be going through the same issues as you on that subject. If it lives in th water I have caught it. I even do some flounder gigging when i am in places that flounder migrat to. You have to be a fisherman and a seafood lovet to do that. Shit walking through shallow water with a light and a spear after dark or in the wee hours of the morning can be spooky, but that dosnt stop me because I am a fisherman. But It takes a speial prson for me to share my king crabs with, but I would love to share my king crabs with you. The day I share my crab legs with you, I would considered it a “Good Evening”

  30. Yeah I Said It said

    Ditto that 2020. It takes a special person for me to share my lobster tails with. Seeing it could be you I am sooo there! 🙂

  31. 2020VIZN said

    2020 comes in door singing, “you should be here” by Raphael Saadiq. No matter the city, I find the best sea food in town. The east caost fishery was One of the best places to get seafood in miami is the . They moved from their origional location and moved closer to the downtown. If you watched Fast and Furious II, there was a scene when Tyrese took one of the detectives food, that was shot in the origional east cast fishery. but another excellent seafood resterant is Monty’s by the bay, we will go someday. But you need to get some conch if you have never tried it, they say it is an afrodisiac, all I know is that it is good as hell.

  32. w2m said

    I knew Memphis was on that list. When I saw this on the news on Friday I just shook my head. Its bad here.

  33. w2m said

    now to go back and read all the comments.

  34. Lisa said

    It’s all good 2020VIZN! I have lived in other cities for a minute but my heart is MIA; But have fun when come home for Goombay! Next time come home for Urban Beach weekend in May. You took it back with the East Coast Fisheries

  35. 2020VIZN said

    @ Lisa: I can digg it hommie!!

Leave a Reply

 
