Media Outrage

Media Outrage Celebrity Gossip, and everything that is going on in the Media!

“Girl Please…You Know My Man Is Better”

Posted by Media Outrage on February 16, 2010

LaLa Vasquez and Gabrielle Union look like they were in a serious debate about whose man was really doing their thing on the court.  Everyone knows Gabby is dating D Wade and LaLa is soon to jump the broom with Carmelo Anthony.  Both ladies looked nice and that’s probably not even what they were talking about lol but it sounded good….

19 Responses to ““Girl Please…You Know My Man Is Better””

  1. MissTX said

    Ooh MO ya’ll messy as hell! LOL!

  2. brynnrock said

    LaLA changed alot, looks like a black barbie use to be more natural. But I like LaLa and her style just stay real. Gabby always looking fine as hell.

    • Me said

      Lala is latina. She is NOT black.

      • William Jefferson said

        what’s the difference?

        if it was 1923 neither one of them would be able to vote.

        just sayin…

      • LowRidaz said

        For real @ William Jefferson, I mean like… who really gives a darn what she is, ok folks lets close the book on this chapter, its gettin old, who really does care?

    • Me said

      Taken from Lala’s Blog…

      Personal Essay: Yo Soy Boricua

      A lot of people don’t realize that I’m Latina, which is fine. One thing about being Latina is that there isn’t one look that comes with the territory. I don’t expect people to know my cultural background just by glancing at me. I do, however, expect that when I tell people my family is from Puerto Rico, that I will be believed and not accused of trying to be something that I’m not. It usually goes something like this: a person having a conversation with me discovers one way or another that I’m Puerto Rican and fluent in Spanish. That person then expresses their shock over these realizations for any number of reasons–common responses are, “You don’t look Latina” and “I thought you were black!” I never said I wasn’t black. And since when does being black and being Latina have to be mutually exclusive?

      In my experience, people tend to have an uninformed and rather narrow view of what it means to be Puerto Rican. For me, not looking like some people’s idea of a typical Latina has been challenging and often painful. I constantly find myself trying to justify who I am, and why should I? I’m proud of my heritage and my family. Both of my parents are from Puerto Rico. They raised two kids in Brooklyn and later in New Jersey, where we ate arroz con gandules and pasteles and listened to salsa music. I feel just as at home in Puerto Rico, where I still have tons of family, including aunts, uncles and cousins. Puerto Rico is in my blood. And that has nothing to do with the color of my skin.

      I’m not angry with anyone who doesn’t understand the complexities of race and culture. And I’m also not interested in having long, drawn out conversations about how it’s possible for me to look like this and speak Spanish. In fact, sometimes I make it a point not to mention my parents’ birthplace because I don’t always feel like having the inevitable discussion that follows. Instead, I let people look at me and come to their own conclusions. As I start to get my feet wet in Hollywood, I already know that there are certain parts I won’t even be considered for. The character can be Puerto Rican and speak Spanish just like me, but Hollywood defines Latina as Jennifer Lopez and Sofia Vergara. As beautiful as they are, we’re not all one race in Latin America. But I don’t go to auditions so that I can give history lessons to film executives. I’d rather skip the entire process.

      I’m raising my son to understand who he is, and it’s my hope that he’ll never let others define him. It reflects poorly on us when we don’t educate ourselves about the rest of the world and what it looks like. I encourage people who are interested to learn more, do research and ask informed questions. If you’re lucky enough to visit various countries in Latin America, you’ll be baffled to see the blackest of the black and the lightest of the light living together. And I dare you to ask one of them to prove their latinidad.

      This article originally appeared on Latina.com

  3. ucanb2 said

    Funny!

  4. Kingston said

    Nice pics.

  5. Real Spaniard said

    Latinas are white Spaniards, Portuguese and Italians. Latinos are white they are not dark-skinned, nappy haired weave wearing Puerto Ricans with big noses and big lips. Puerto Ricans were slaves and are the gist we left behind after we freed them from slavery. Their culture is not Spanish! Spanish culture is Spain. They speak the language of their slave masters whom they continue to love though we will never accept them as our equals. They were our slaves, out property from 1508-1870. We did not enslave latinos, we enslaved Puerto Ricans. Come to Spain and call yourselves Spanish and we will chase you out of the country, you slaves.

  6. Yellowbabe said

    Hmmm, she is three shades darker than me, she wears a weave, I don’t because I have naturally wavy hair; she wears light contacts, I don’t, I have natural green eyes. She must be talking about culture because she sure isn’t talking about hair and skin color.

  7. Washington Heights Enlightened Now Though I was Once Blind said

    I hope she raises him knowing about his ancestor’s slavery past and just how brutal the Spaniards treated the Puerto Rican slaves. Including branding them with hot pokers on their foreheads for 350 years as if they were cattle. I just don’t understand why she is so keen on speaking the tongue of her ancestor slave masters.

  8. Dominikingz said

    You Spaniard, that is such a hypocritical response to say that Lala cant say she is Latin because she is dark skin. Spaniards come to this side of the world and call themselves Latino/Latina like they are down with us! We havent forgotten what you slimeballs did!

  9. brynnrock said

    WOW, I learned a whole lot on this post!

  10. Miranda said

    The only Latins are white. Not the Puerto Ricans and not the Dominicans, you people are confused and you need to learn history and the truth. The Spaniards are Europeans and call themselves that. Latino is a political term.

    • Nina said

      Preach. When Dominicans, PRs, etc call themselves Latin, I want to say no…you’re not Latin. Latin is Greek, French, Spanish (of Spain)and that they are descended from africans and indians. But the truth hurts.

  11. Dominikingz said

    I do agree that the terms Latin, Latino/a and Hispanics were given to us by the treacherous Spaniards. I’m not disagreeing at all but when the hell is happening when Spaniards come to a black owned site to talk crap about Spanish speaking black, Indian and mixed peoples? Fuck all of you and i dare any of you pussy ass spaniards to come around my way talking that mess. You’ll ask for a nice broken jaw.

  12. Gabrielle Union is one of my very favorite actresses. She is so beautiful and talented. I love me some Gabby.

Leave a Reply

 
