Media Outrage

Media Outrage Celebrity Gossip, and everything that is going on in the Media!

Fashion Guru Tim Gunn: The Kardashians Have an Absence In Taste

Posted by Media Outrage on February 23, 2010

Fashion Guru, Tim Gunn, made let his opinion be known about what he thinks about the Kardashians fashion taste.  It’s not good…

His interview with Wonderwall…

WW: Are you a supporter of the Kardashians’ line with Bebe?

TG: No! I just think the Kardashians have an absence of taste and I don’t think that that should be perpetuated. I’m sorry I’m sounding like an old farty snob but it bothers me.

WW: You sound like somebody who’s telling the truth.

TG: I will say in general with celebrity labels, with the understanding that they’re not actually designing them, but you hope in a way that they’re not overseeing them either. I’m all in favor of anything that employs young designers.

There’s Tim below

10 Responses to “Fashion Guru Tim Gunn: The Kardashians Have an Absence In Taste”

  1. Random said

    I love him..”Make it Work” but I’ll have to disagree with him on this…I think the girls are stylish..(at least with their personal style)…haven’t checked out their BEBE line…but if it’s anything similar to their style then I’m sure I’ll like it.

  2. YEAH I SAID IT said

    Glad somebody said it. They have trash on lock.

  3. MissTX said

    I agree with him. It’s very rare that I see Kim in something I like. As for the other 2, Khloe has to taste at all to me. And well I rarely see Kourtney so I’ll leave her alone.

  4. CaramelKiss said

    I get what Tim is saying, but his opinion is a bit biased. I mean he is in the world of fashion and has an impeccable eye when it comes to couture and beautiful pieces of clothing.

    The Dash girls are by no means designers nor real stylist and pretty much ONLY knows what works for their body types. It’s rare I’ll see them in anything fashion forward and they definitely don’t take any risks.

    So if I need a dress for by big-bootied friend or my friend who is 6’2″ or just had a baby, I’ll stroll in and check out their Bebe line.😉

  5. sweetthang said

    whatever TIM, their clothes are hot and you’re hating, of course they’re not alexander mcqueen or dior, but they make affordable clothes for the YOUNG female who wants to look hot, not like granma at the club!! BOY BOO!!

    • MaliaMalia LOVES MO said

      Sweetthang,

      Tim was not hating on those kardashians, he is simply being honest with what he sees within their clothing line that they have created for bebe!!! I personally think he was being polite. Having been working, studying and teaching within the fashion industry, and working with creative and talented professionals, i have come across a few brutal and competitive colleagues that are bluntly honest and so direct with their thoughts own your designs and so forth! So i do feel tim was too polite and honest with his thoughts on their clothing line. I think his was simply saying that there is no uniqueness within the clothing line, there is no unique selling point with what they have so called designed for bebe. I have viewed their clothing line and it is obvious that they have taken or have used recycled inspirational ideas for their “creation”. There is no uniqueness or originality and that is what they’re lacking within their clothing line they have created.

      I have looked at their jewelry collection for virgins saints and angels and i think its quiet beautiful as it is obvious that they have taken the time to develop their own unique concept/inspirational ideas for this collection, and i quiet like it, although i do know that they weren’t responsible for physically making each individual pieces but it is quiet obvious that they had taken the time to develop their own unique selling point into this jewelry collection. They should have taken their concept they had created and used for their jewelry line and developed that into their bebe “clothing line”….

  6. MaliaMalia LOVES MO said

    I totally agree with Tim!!! and do believe that the kardashians don’t have that sort of passion or professional skills or natural talent that most “professional designers have for designing clothes or any sort of fashion product that a professional and highly skilled designer has!!!
    I really do admire the kardashian girls, and do feel they work extremely hard!! but i don’t feel that they have that natural talent in designing (fashion products) as genuine fashion designers!!! It is an insult when they “the kardashian girls” mention they’re designers or designing a line for so and so and claim they’re the ones responsible designing this particular range or fashion product. There is more to it when designing a fashion range/limited edition then just selecting a few material swatch, color platte and all that is needed for a product range. There is so much effort that goes into design and technical skills that these girls would not have unless they have been professionally trained by professionals within the the fashion industry!!!

    They’re not the ones making the actual product (Concept development, product strategy, initial design ideas, product design and development etc…….!!! they’re simply promoting this range not physically making and developing the product!!!

  7. Aniyaqt said

    I AGREE!!!!! Judging by his expertise’ I believe that he knows what he’s talkin’ about. Besides, just look at them “sometimes.” Those SHOULDER PADS Kim wore to the SUPERBOWL???? Who does that?

  8. Good afternoon, just needed you to know I have added your webblog to my Google bookmarks as a consequence of your extraordinary blog layout. But seriously, I believe your blog has one of the finest theme I’ve discovered. It really makes reading your blog a lot easier. Perhaps you have contemplated blogging for money? there is a website http://christianlove.jimdo.com/ / that pays you to write articles, you would be great at it.

Leave a Reply

 
