Media Outrage

Media Outrage Celebrity Gossip, and everything that is going on in the Media!

Roy Jones Jr. Talks To Mediaoutrage.com About His Upcoming Fight With Bernard Hopkins

Posted by Media Outrage on March 25, 2010

Yesterday Mediaoutrage.com had the opportunity to chop it up with one of the greatest boxers of all time, Roy Jones Jr.  It’s apparent that he’s on a down hill slide into the land of brain dead boxers in comas if he doesn’t get his groove back.  After 2 consecutive defeats with the last one coming by 1st Round TKO at the hands of Danny Green, Roy is scheduled to duke it out with long time arch nemesis Bernard “The Executioner” Hopkins on Saturday April 3rd in Las Vegas.  Well Peep what Roy had to say to Mediaoutrage.com about what will most certainly take place in a little more than a week…

MO: Any predictions for the out come of the fight on April 3rd?

Roy: Most definitely, he’s going to SLEEP without a doubt!  I gaurantee you he’s going to sleep by knockout. 

MO: Where do you rank yourself amongst the great boxers in history?

Roy: I don’t know, I don’t rank myself.  I don’t take time to do that.  That’s like saying how do I rank myself as far as how I look as an American male walking around in this country.  I let people make those kinds of decisions. 

MO: Is there the slightest chance that Bernard Hopkins will beat you?

Roy: Yea, there’s an opportunity, but everyone has an opportunity, but it WON’T be happening come April 3rd!  Ain’t got a lot to say, got a whole lot to do.

Roy explains why people are going to lay down their HARD EARNED money to watch them fight 17 years after the first fight:

Roy: Cause we lay down our hard earned lives to put on 2 hell of stellar careers over that 17 year period – so why not lay down your hard earned money to watch 2 guys that have laid their lives on the line to entertain you people for 17 or 18 years? They understand who we are, they have watched who we are, so why not give it back to us and to go at it one more time for the ages?  They know one thing for sure – they gone get what they pay for.

Roy speaks on whether he feels he’s tarnishing his reputation at this point by continuing to fight:

Roy: First of all, that first round knockout in my last fight, wasn’t really a knock out when a guy hits you in the back of the head with a cast and the ref stops the fight prematurely.  That’s not considered a knockout to me, so i’m not even concerned about that.  Second of all it ain’t many out there that can do it as good as I still can so why should I not be doing it? 

Roy: I was smarter and slicker than Bernard Hopkins 17 years ago and I’m still smarter and slicker than him now. 

Roy explains whether he gives any concern to those out there that say he’s putting himself in danger by continuing to fight, given some of the ways he’s lost in the last couple of years:

Roy: Uhh yea I do, I tip my hat off to them for being concerned about me because that’s a great thing but at the same time you to to realize taht this is how you know me… putting my life on the line.  You get to know someone for putting their life on the line it’s hard for you to tell them when to stop.  If I didn’t have that gun-ho attitude about myself in the beginning to put my life on the line the world would never know me.

15 Responses to “Roy Jones Jr. Talks To Mediaoutrage.com About His Upcoming Fight With Bernard Hopkins”

  1. brynnrock said

    Bernard is going to knock him the fuck out, and Roy is scarred. I peeped the interview. Bernard came straight at him, Roy was stuttering at the end, you could see the fear!

  2. Roy, I love you, but i feel that your ass is gonna get beat like a Black man pissing on a cop’s shoe. There is no way he will beat Benard

  3. MissTX said

    Should be an interesting fight.

    Hmm…who has bootleg PPV so I can come over and watch? I refuse to pay to watch this fight. But I’ll bring snacks. Or liquor. LOL

    • BadBadKitty0727 said

      Bring liquor. Specifically, Vodka. Grey Goose or Belvedere will do, but if you on a budget, Stolichnaya is alright. Smirnoff makes a lovely Cranberry flavored vodka, too.

      I’ll take care of the mixers & snacks (chips & dip, chicken wings, turkey & ham roll-ups & Better Than Sex Cake, for those with a sweet tooth).

      • MissTX said

        See we can kick it! LOL!

        And no budget here. I stay on the Goose & Belvedere. And Smirnoff is what that is too.

  4. Sapphire Storm said

    I remember when I used to want me some Roy Jones! I was too young to know what I’d do if I got him. But man, I wanted him! lol

  5. Mrs. 2020VIZN♥ said

    Forget the fight, more interested in that COCK up top… whats his weight 3-4 lbs? could make a nice rotisserie rooster lolol.

    MO what was the story behind this photoshoot? Ive seen men with b*tches, cars, money but NEVER a rooster lolol. Guess it’s about to be a COCK FIGHT lololol.

    • Media Outrage said

      Roy fights chickens.

      • Mrs. 2020VIZN♥ said

        Please pardon my ignorance, the last time i watched a boxing match was when tyson feasted on hollyfield’s ear lol and i DIDN’T read paragraph. Is he a cock fighter in the real or that chicken was a metaphoric representation of his weak components?

  6. ucanb2 said

    OKAY…

  7. Terrance said

    Roy needs to chill. Bernard has been fighting quality name opponents for the past decade. Meanwhile Roy has been gettin his @$$ kicked by auto mechanics and sanitation workers. Roy’s my dude, but like I said before he should only be fighting sleep.

  8. B.Hop is gonna tap that ass like sammy davis and gregory hines

  9. ALLISWELL5 said

    It’s going to come down to who has the hardest chin. Hopkins can take a punch, he’s a brawler. Roy was such an expert at not being hit, he never developed a solid chin. Should be a good fight though.

    One

Leave a Reply

 
