Media Outrage

Media Outrage Celebrity Gossip, and everything that is going on in the Media!

Russell Simmons Does Something Positive

Posted by Media Outrage on April 8, 2010

Russell Simmons has lept into action after hearing about the gang-rape of a 7 year old girl in Trenton.  Peep what he’s putting into motion…

Via AHH:

Hip-Hop mogul Russell Simmons has teamed with the Mayor of Trenton, New Jersey, to help bankroll a peacekeeping organization of citizens in the city, after a 7-year-old girl was gang raped last month.

Simmons told The Trentonian that he will provide half of the funds for a new program being introduced into the city titled Educating Neighborhoods to Obey Those in Authority (ENOTA).

The program was launched by Captain Dennis Muhammad in 1985.

Muhammad has also worked within the Hip-Hop community, helping to mediate beefs behind the scenes, in addition to working with young men from troubled communities across the country.

Simmons costs to launch the program could be as much as $50,000, while the Mayor’s charity, the Trenton First Initiative, would cover the other half of the expenses.

According to The Trentonian, the peacekeepers will wear orange jackets and carry special cards to identify themselves as participants in the program, which has been successful in Delaware and New York.

“We want to get men from the community and train them so they can move through the streets, so they can exude a positive attitude and presence,” Simmons said. “Their job is not to patrol in the same way that police patrol.”

Mayor Palmer has also offered his support for the rally that Simmons is hosting this Saturday (April 10th) in Trenton at the Lighthouse Outreach Ministry.

“There’s so many people that want to do something,” Palmer said. “They’re outraged, they’re mad, but beyond that, they want to be able to help now and in the future, to try to, hopefully, stop some of the behavior, especially by young people.”

The effort is an attempt to heal the city after the shocking news that a 7-year-old was gang raped by seven men, after her 15-year-old sister sold herself and the girl for sex during a party on March 28th.

So far, six individuals have been charged and police believe there are more assailants.

10 Responses to “Russell Simmons Does Something Positive”

  1. brynnrock said

    Yeah, after he received all the money from exploiting his bank cards!

    • yoy50 said

      THANK U! I can’t stand that lisping bastard… fucking thief. I wish he’d just disappear. He’s an embarrassment to the race with his punk ass!!!

    • Yvonne said

      Agree with you both. From what I’ve seen and read about him, IMO, he talks out the side of his neck.

      • RAFIQ said

        AND HE EXPLOITED THE BLACK COMEDIANS FROM DEF COMEDY JAM.THE PARK IN QUEENS ACROSS THE STREET FROM WHERE HE GREW UP AND WHERE HIS OLDER BROTHER LIVES STILL LOOK THE SAME.HIS OLD NEIGHBORHOOD STILL LOOK THE SAME,HE OR RUN D-MC DIDN’T DO SHYT FOR THEIR COMMUNITY IN QUEENS HOW ABOUT THAT.

  2. MissTX said

    That’s nice.

  3. Yeah I Said It said

    I’m sorry fuck that.!!!!How do you educate mongrels??? Who cares about folks walking around in orange jackets with Id’s (some we shall overcome type shit) get a group of folks that prey on the predators and kill them. Count me in. I hate abuse, sexual or physical of innocent children who don’t have a way of fighting back.

    This shit makes my blood boil and cause me to really think irrational.

    • ucanb2 said

      Calm down YISI…but I agree with you!

    • Kingston said

      “I hate abuse, sexual or physical of innocent children who don’t have a way of fighting back”.

      You’re not the only one! When I heard about it, that shit send major chills through my spine. I’m thinking all these grown nasty dick men having their way with a poor lil innocent girl. (It reminds me of the graphic rape scene in “A time to Kill”). Men like that deserve to die IMO. I hope they eat their asses alive in prison.

      Anyway, it’s good what Russ is doing. I mean, we gotta start from somewhere.

  4. Nina said

    My heart just sank. A gang-rape of a seven-year old, that is tragic…the dogs repsonsible should be castrated with no anesthesia. I see where Russell’s heart is but will this really help?

    • yoy50 said

      @ Nina… with all due respect, if his heart is truly in the right place, why does he feel the need to generate any press? I know that whenever I’ve done a good deed, I don’t feel the need to have the world know it. I do good deeds because they are needed, not to be in a spot light. To me, he’s made a bad situation worse.

      If he really wanted to help, he could afford to pay for security (flat out) for (at the very least) 1 year– not some ‘flash light cops in orange jackets running around the building hollering “I SEE YOU, I SEE YOU”. All that money he’s generated from his rushcard scam could go back to the neighborhoods he stole it from. At least that would be some form of redemption. So no… this won’t help.

      And calling these animals ‘dogs’ is an insult to all dogs– dogs are loyal companions and protective. These boys are more akin to the Komodo dragon– those animals ARE beasts and scavengers who’s only goal is for themselves. (http://skew.dailyskew.com/uploaded_images/komodo-dragon-731086.jpg)

      @ Kingston– that scene from “A Time to Kill” came into my mind as well. I mean I actually have shed a few tears for this child. I can’t help but think that she may have only turned 7 years old a few months back so essentially, these animals may as well be accused of raping a 6 year old! And that step sister– man… I have no words for her. Give me 15 minutes and extension cord, and her heart will get right.

      Sorry folks for going on and on, but the subject of rape is such an awful thing and unfortunately, I don’t think men will actually (fully) understand the trauma it causes. Her innocence was robbed and her nightmares are now full. She has the rest of her life to remember that day no matter how hard she tries to grow up and move on. I personally think rape is worse than murder. With death, well, if there is a heaven, you’re in a better place, but to survive rape (and gang rape even) is hell on earth. Can you imagine her distrust of men (for the rest of her life)?

      I’ve prayed for this little baby girl every night since I first read about this story.

Leave a Reply

 
