Media Outrage

Media Outrage Celebrity Gossip, and everything that is going on in the Media!

Paula Abdul: “I Could Have Killed Myself”

Posted by Media Outrage on May 5, 2009

Paula Abdul

Paula Abdul addresses some of her inner demons that she battled.

 

Via People:

Dealing with Simon Cowell on live TV may be a challenge – but Paula Abdul says it’s nothing compared her struggle to kick her dependence on painkillers.

“I could have killed myself,” Abdul, 46, tells Ladies’ Home Journal in its June issue. “Withdrawal – it’s the worst thing.”

Abdul says she checked herself into the La Costa Resort and Spa, in Carlsbad, Calif., last Thanksgiving to help beat her use of medication. “I was freezing cold, then sweating hot, then chattering and in so much pain, it was excruciating,” she says. “But at my very core, I did not like existing the way I had been.”

After taking medication to combat pain from injuries that happened during her grueling years as a dancer – beginning with a back injury when she was 17 and including a neck injury sustained in a plane crash in 1993 – the American Idol judge says, “I’d been working nonstop,” and her desire to carry on with her work led her to take more pain pills.

“I’m an old school professional,” Abdul says of her “Never let them see you sweat” credo.

By 2005, Abdul was diagnosed with reflex sympathetic dystrophy syndrome, a chronic condition that resulted in debilitating pain. As a result, she wore a pain patch and took nerve medication and, occasionally, a muscle relaxant. The combo made her “get weird,” she says.

Thanks to her 15th surgery, yoga and spiritual workshops, she says she feels 96 percent better. Now more comfortable in her role on Idol, Abdul says she still has some issues with Cowell. “He’s like the brother I never had – or wanted,” she says. “From day one, Simon and I have had a love-hate relationship”

8 Responses to “Paula Abdul: “I Could Have Killed Myself””

  1. MissTX85 said

    WOW!!

  2. key_so_jazzy said

    i could have sworn that she was still on drugs….

  3. monealicia said

    I could have cared less. Coulda woulda shoulda Paula…

  4. lio said

    OH please, you got money, fame, and you want to kill yourself..FUCK OFF !!

  5. Yeah I Said It said

    Can you imagine dying and Paula is the doctor to tell you the bad news. She would lie her ass off. I can just hear her: Mesheco I took a look at your xrays and first let me say they are the most beautiful cancer filled lungs I have ever seen. I mean the lighting was amazing and even though you can’t breathe you held your breath and allowed the pure air of outside oxygen into your lungs so we can get a better shot… I don’t think there is anyone in this hospital that has produce a perfect picture.. I love it and I love you also…

    Simone steps in and say Mesheco, your lungs are black as hell and failing at a rapid pace. I don’t think you are going to make it pass 1:30 today you will be dead and its 12:45 now. Sorry but we need this bed as soon as possible….

  6. ucanb2 said

    Wow… LOL @ Lio!

  7. lowridaz said

    this bitch is so dramatic,

  8. beach chick said

    Yawn!

Leave a comment